Touch MBA | Free School Selection Help | Admissions Edge | About | Podcast

UT Austin McCombs MBA - Lily Trieu '19 (USA)

Name: Lily Trieu
Nationality: United States
Pre-MBA Education: The University of McCombs at Austin, BBA Marketing
Work Before MBA: Consumer Packaged Goods/FMCG, Account & Category Management
Work After MBA / Post MBA Goals: Non-profit Management, Policy

I have 9 years of experience in the CPG/FMCG industry, ranging from operations to trade marketing to various functions in sales and sales strategy. I’ve worked with Kimberly-Clark, Reckitt Benckiser, and most recently a mid-sized pet food company called Ainsworth Pet Nutrition.

Why did you pick McCombs? My favorite thing about McCombs was the flexibility to customize your learning experience. You have the backdrop of a large, research oriented university - giving you access to electives in the law, public policy, education, and many other subjects that bode well for non-traditional post-MBA careers. It also doesn’t hurt that it’s in a great, vibrant city like Austin.

Best part of program? While I haven’t started yet, I’ve already had many interactions with current students, staff, and alumni. It’s an amazing network and everyone is so friendly and willing to help.

In your opinion, McCombs provides the most opportunities for MBAs entering which industries/functions/geographies? Because Austin is such a tech and entrepreneurially focused city, it’s great for those who are interested in start-ups or work in the tech industry. McCombs also has quite a number of recruiters from oil and gas as well as finance roles from the Houston and Dallas region. Lastly, many students find opportunities in consulting as there are offices for all the major consulting firms in the Texas area,

Feel free to ask me about…?
Anything
Why I chose McCombs
My experience during the admissions journey
Career Services
Global exposure and international travel
Campus life and residences on campus