Touch MBA | Free School Selection Help | Admissions Edge | About | Podcast

HEC Paris - Adriaan '16 (Philippines) - Ask Me Anything!

Who I Am: Adriaan Tan
Where I’m From: Philippines
What I Studied: BS in Management, Ateneo de Manila University; Master in Public Policy, University of Southern California
What Was I Doing Before MBA: Financial Planning and Analysis in Real Estate
What I Want To Do After MBA: Strategy or Business Development

Why HEC Paris? After weighing all my options, I decided on HEC Paris because I thought it was good value for money. The tuition was not as much as other programs while the length was ideal at 16 months. Some programs would make you pay more for even a shorter program or much more for just a bit longer. Plus, HEC has an excellent brand name in Europe, which is my target job location post-MBA. The class is also very international, which immediately changes your perspective on things.

What’s the best part of the program? It’s the people - how international the class is, but more so the friends that I’ve made. It’s so cliche to say it’s the people… until you’ve experienced it.

Favorite class/professor/learning experience - why? Doing the St. Cyr Leadership Seminar is rather unforgettable; no other school can boast of such an experience. It’s a seminar that tests you both physically and mentally. It pushed me to test my limits. But going back to the classroom, I’d say my favorite classes were some Marketing classes. Professors were just excellent and some of them very animated! Makes learning much more fun!

What were you most surprised to learn about HEC Paris after starting the program? How well known the school is in France. For every French person you tell that you go to HEC, you get that surprised look matched with some “tres bien!” or “felicitations!”